Skip to content

We may be paid when you buy through our links. Who pays us never changes what we show. How we make money

Christmas 2026 gift guide

A box they open on Christmas morning, then every month after

Four kids' subscription boxes by age and interest: the first box, the cost with shipping, where it ships from, and whether the gift plan stops by itself.

Dec 3
outside order date for the UK-shipped history box to land by Dec 24 (our arithmetic)
Dec 20
contiguous-US order-by date on KiwiCo's holiday page (no year printed)

Mysteries in Time FAQ and KiwiCo holiday page, read Oct 7, 2026.

A parent and child knead dough together at a kitchen counter.
On this page
  1. Before you buy a box as a gift
  2. Start with the child
  3. The four boxes as Christmas gifts
  4. What is actually under the tree
  5. History and STEAM boxes: Mysteries in Time and KiwiCo
  6. Cooking boxes: Raddish
  7. Baby and toddler: Lovevery Play Kits
  8. Christmas gift box questions
  9. Sources

Before you buy a box as a gift

  • Only Mysteries in Time12 and KiwiCo3 sell a gift plan that stops on its own. Raddish memberships all auto-renew8; a Lovevery gift purchase runs until you cancel11.
  • Mysteries in Time ships from the UK: dispatch within 2-3 working days, 5-12 working days in transit2. Counting back from Dec 24 gives about Dec 3 as the outside order date (our arithmetic). Its Christmas cut-off date is not printed as of Oct 71.
  • KiwiCo's holiday page lists Dec 20 for the contiguous US, with no year stated5. Raddish's help center describes a Holiday Hold shipping the first kit on or by Dec 109. USPS's 2026 send-by date for Ground Advantage is Dec 1715.
  • Per box with US shipping: Mysteries in Time $30.86 ($24.91 plus $5.95, our sum)2; KiwiCo from $24, free shipping617; Raddish $22.95 to $28.95, free shipping7; Lovevery $88 or $132 a kit, shipping not stated13.

Start with the child

Ages are the merchants' own ranges.

Start with the child
If you are askingStart withLink
A baby or toddler, newborn to 3?Lovevery Play Kits or KiwiCo Panda Crate (0-36 months)
Ages 3 to 5, hands-on play?KiwiCo Koala Crate (ages 3-6), from $24 a crate
Ages 6 to 8, loves stories and the past?Mysteries in Time (ages 6-11), $30.86 a box to the US
Ages 6 to 8, builds and tinkers?KiwiCo Kiwi Crate (6-9) or Atlas Crate (6-12)
Ages 9 to 12?KiwiCo Tinker Crate (9-12); Mysteries in Time runs to 11
Any age from 4, wants to cook or bake?Raddish Cooking (4-14+), Global Eats (6-14+) or Baking (8-14+)

The four boxes as Christmas gifts

Each merchant's own pages, read October 7, 2026. The per-box sums are ours.

BoxAgesShips fromFirst box (merchant-stated)Gift plan stops itself?Per box with US shipping
Mysteries in Time16-11UK; 5-12 working daysWithin 2-3 working days; you pick the first delivery date; later boxes ship the week of the 23rdYes: pick the number of shipments; pre-paid 6 and 12-month gifts do not auto-renew$24.91 + $5.95 = $30.86 (12-month plan); other plans in GBP
KiwiCo crates30-36 months to 12-100, by lineUS; free shipping on subscriptionsFree 3-10 business days, USPS Rush 2-5 or UPS 2-Day; holiday order-by Dec 20Yes: non-renewing 3, 6 or 12-month planFrom $24 (annual) to $30 (monthly); gift plan prices not read in USD
Raddish clubs74-14+, 6-14+ or 8-14+US via USPS; free shippingShips within 1-3 business days, 3-7 in transit; Holiday Hold on or by Dec 10No: cancel the renewal right after purchase$22.95 (12 months, $275.40 up front) to $28.95 (monthly)
Lovevery Play Kits110 to 5 yearsNot stated by the sourceStarts preparing for shipment immediately after checkout; cannot be delayedNo: subscribes you until you cancel; single kits from 13 months$88 (0-12 months) or $132 (from 1 year); shipping not stated
SourceMerchant pagesRead Oct 7, 2026Merchant pagesRead Oct 7, 2026Merchant pagesRead Oct 7, 2026Merchant gift pagesRead Oct 7, 2026Merchant prices plus our arithmeticRead Oct 7, 2026

Lovevery's pages do not say where kits ship from or what shipping costs. KiwiCo's USD prices come from its help center; its product pages showed EUR to our machine6. Raddish's Holiday Hold article also carries a January 2025 date, so check for the option at checkout9.

What is actually under the tree

A subscription gift is a plan, not a parcel, so the question is what the child holds on December 25. Mysteries in Time ships the first box, always Ancient Egypt, within 2-3 working days, and you pick the first delivery date at checkout21. Pre-paid 6 and 12-month gift plans 'arrive gift-wrapped for the first box' with your Christmas note1. Royal Mail's 2026 international last posting dates were not published as of October 719, so the order-by dates page works from the merchant's own dispatch and transit figures.

KiwiCo lets you choose the month deliveries start and ship the first crate to your own address to hand over, with the rest going to the child after Christmas5. Tick 'Are you giving this as a gift?' for a gift message4.

Raddish ships the first kit within 1-3 business days with a printable gift note78. Its help center describes a 'Holiday Hold: Christmas / Hanukkah' option shipping on or by December 10, but the same article carries a 2025 date, so look for it at checkout rather than assuming it9. Orders by 9pm PST on the 18th get that month's kit9.

Lovevery emails your gift message to the recipient when you order; the first Play Kit begins preparing for shipment immediately after checkout and cannot be scheduled1116. No holiday order-by date is published on the pages we read.

History and STEAM boxes: Mysteries in Time and KiwiCo

Both sell a gift plan that ends by itself.

Good for a 6 to 11 year old who reads stories and likes crafts and puzzles

Mysteries in Time history box, Christmas gift plan

Per box to the US
$24.91 (12-month plan) + $5.95 shipping = $30.86, our arithmetic
Gift plan
Pick the number of shipments; pre-paid 6 and 12-month gifts do not auto-renew
Order by
About Dec 3 by our arithmetic; merchant cut-off not published
Listed price
From $24.91/box (12-month plan) + $5.95/mo US shipping
Checked
Oct 7, 2026
What to check before you buy
  • Select USD before reading the plan prices
  • Any December cut-off date the merchant adds

Good for ages 3 to 12 in the Koala, Kiwi, Atlas, Doodle or Tinker lines

KiwiCo crates, non-renewing gift subscription

Per crate
From $24 (annual) to $30 (monthly); free US shipping
Gift plan
Non-renewing 3, 6 or 12-month terms expire on their own
Order by
Dec 20 contiguous US on the holiday page (no year printed)
See crates on KiwiCoOpens KiwiCo's site. Not a referral link.
What to check before you buy
  • 'Learn about our non-renewing subscriptions' on the Gifting page
  • Option to ship the first crate to you

Cooking boxes: Raddish

No non-renewing plan: cancel the renewal straight after you buy.

Good for a child from 4 who cooks with an adult, or an 8 to 14 year old who bakes

Raddish cooking, global and baking clubs

Per kit
$28.95 monthly; $25.95 on 6 months; $22.95 on 12 months; free US shipping
Gift plan
Memberships auto-renew; cancel the renewal right after purchase
First kit
Ships within 1-3 business days; orders by the 18th get that month's kit
Raddish Baking Club kit subscription (ages 8 to 14+)
$28.95 a month (monthly plan)
Raddish Cooking Club kit subscription (ages 4 to 14+)
$28.95 a month (monthly plan)
Raddish Global Eats Club kit subscription (ages 6 to 14+)
$28.95 a month (monthly plan)
Checked
Oct 7, 2026
See plans on RaddishOpens Raddish Kids's site. Not a referral link.
What to check before you buy
  • Whether a Holiday Hold option is offered at checkout
  • Single past kits in the Store for a one-off gift

Baby and toddler: Lovevery Play Kits

Gifting is a subscription until cancelled.

Good for a newborn to 5 year old; the giver picks the kit for the child's stage

Lovevery Play Kits as a gift

Per kit
$88 (0-12 months, every 2 months); $132 (from 1 year, every 3 months)
Gift plan
Subscribes you until you cancel; gift-code program retired Sept 23
First kit
Prepares for shipment immediately after checkout; cannot be delayed
Listed price
$88 per kit (0-12 months); $132 from 1 year
Checked
Oct 7, 2026
See Play Kits on LoveveryOpens Lovevery's site. Not a referral link.
What to check before you buy
  • Shipping cost at checkout (not stated on the pages we read)
  • Single Play Kit option for 13+ months

Christmas gift box questions

When do I need to order a subscription box to have it by Christmas 2026?

Mysteries in Time ships from the UK; its stated 2-3 working days to dispatch and 5-12 in transit give Wednesday December 3 as the outside order date by our arithmetic, with the end of November as the comfortable one2. KiwiCo's holiday page lists December 20 for the contiguous US, without a year5. Raddish's help center describes a Holiday Hold shipping on or by December 109. Lovevery publishes no holiday date. USPS's 2026 send-by dates are December 17 for Ground Advantage and First-Class Mail, December 18 for Priority Mail and December 19 for Priority Mail Express15.

What does the child actually receive on Christmas Day?

The first box of the plan, if it has arrived, plus the merchant's note. Mysteries in Time ships Ancient Egypt first and says a pre-paid 6 or 12-month gift arrives gift-wrapped with your message12. KiwiCo can ship the first crate to you to hand over5. Raddish ships within 1-3 business days with a printable gift note78. Lovevery emails the gift message when you order and ships the first kit immediately1116.

Which gift plans stop on their own?

Mysteries in Time: the plan auto-cancels once the chosen shipments are paid for2. KiwiCo: non-renewing 3, 6 or 12-month gift subscriptions expire at the end of the prepaid period3. Raddish: every membership auto-renews, so cancel the renewal right after buying; it bills between the 26th and 28th with no mid-term refunds820. Lovevery: a gifted Play Kits purchase is a subscription until you cancel11. The renewal and cancellation guide covers the cancel steps.

Can I give one box without any subscription?

Yes, at all four: Mysteries in Time single-era packs in its shop2; KiwiCo one-time crates and an instant electronic gift card45; Raddish past kits in its store as one-time purchases, $28.95 each on its gift guide page1821; Lovevery single Play Kits from 13 months and an e-Gift Card11.

Is a project crate safe for a 3 year old?

Only a line made for that age. The federal small parts rule bans small parts in products intended for children under 3 and requires a choking-hazard warning on products with small parts for older children14. KiwiCo's Koala Crate is labelled ages 3-6 and Panda Crate 0-36 months10; crates for 6 and up are not made for a 3 year old. Check the age guidance and warning label first.

Sources

  1. Christmas gifts for kidsMysteries in Time, read Oct 7, 2026
  2. FAQMysteries in Time, read Oct 7, 2026
  3. Non-renewing gift subscriptionsKiwiCo help center, read Oct 7, 2026
  4. Giving a subscription as a giftKiwiCo help center, read Oct 7, 2026
  5. Holiday FAQs and shipping scheduleKiwiCo, read Oct 7, 2026
  6. How much do subscriptions cost?KiwiCo help center, read Oct 7, 2026
  7. Cooking Club plan pageRaddish Kids, read Oct 7, 2026
  8. Can I give Raddish as a gift?Raddish help center, read Oct 7, 2026
  9. When will my kits ship?Raddish help center, read Oct 7, 2026
  10. Gift guideKiwiCo, read Oct 7, 2026
  11. Gift the Play KitsLovevery, read Oct 7, 2026
  12. Sending the Play Kits as a giftLovevery help center, read Oct 7, 2026
  13. The Play KitsLovevery, read Oct 7, 2026
  14. Small Parts Ban and Choking Hazard LabelingCPSC, read Oct 2, 2026
  15. 2026 Holiday Shipping DeadlinesUSPS, read Oct 7, 2026
  16. When does my first Play Kit ship?Lovevery help center, read Oct 7, 2026
  17. Shipping optionsKiwiCo help center, read Oct 7, 2026
  18. Holiday gift guideRaddish Kids, read Oct 7, 2026
  19. Last posting datesRoyal Mail, read Oct 7, 2026
  20. Cancellation policyRaddish help center, read Oct 7, 2026
  21. Single kits that do not renewRaddish help center, read Oct 7, 2026

About this page

We may be paid when you buy through links on this page.

We may be paid when you buy through links on this page.

Prices, plans, shipping and cancellation terms belong to each merchant and can change. The merchant's own page is the final word on price, availability and terms.

LittleCrate Pick compares published facts. We have not tested these boxes with children and make no claims about what they teach. Check each box's age guidance and warning labels.